Tearing Spain apart

Geographical, historical, and political factors cause differences between Spanish regions or provinces of Spain.

Modern Spain appeared as a result of the wake of the expansion (Reconquista) of the Christian lands in northern Spain.

After the reconquest, the process of religious and linguistic unification and political centralization followed.

The contemporary division of Spain into Autonomous Communities is an effort to admit nationalities and regional identities in Spain.

Ten ways to divide Spain
Reddit user: jumbodumbo123

After the Reconquista, depending on the duration of the Muslim occupation, some territories became identified themselves as distinct from the rest of Spain – Galicia, León, Cantabria, Asturias, the Basque Country, Navarre, Aragon, Catalonia, Balearic Islands, Valencia, Andalusia.

9 ways to divide Spain
Reddit user: mapologies

Catalonia is a unique province in Spain. This province even has its own customs.

12 ways to divide Catalonia

Related posts:
Spain by region: iconic dishes

1 Star2 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)