New France in its heyday

New France was the area colonized by France in North America during a period beginning with the exploration of the Gulf of Saint Lawrence by Jacques Cartier in 1534 and ending with the cession of New France to Great Britain and Spain in 1763 under the Treaty of Paris (1763).

At its peak in 1712, the territory of New France extended from Newfoundland to the Canadian prairies and from Hudson Bay to the Gulf of Mexico, including all the Great Lakes of North America.

Territories having been at one time controlled by France during the period 1534 – 1803

The map above contains only sixty forts while New France has more than one hundred fifty.

1 Star2 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)