French Polynesia VS Europe

French Polynesia is an overseas collectivity of the French Republic and the only overseas country of France. It is included 118 geographically scattered islands and atolls extending over an expanse of more than 2,000 kilometers (1,200 mi) in the South Pacific Ocean. Its total land area is 4,167 square kilometers (1,609 sq miles).

The map below illustrates the size of the French Polynesian archipelagos compared to Europe.

French Polynesia VS Europe

French Polynesia is subdivided into 5 groups of islands or archipelagos: the Society Islands archipelago, composed of the Windward Islands and the Leeward Islands; the Tuamotu Archipelago; the Gambier Islands; the Marquesas Islands; and the Austral Islands.

Amongst its 118 islands and atolls, 67 are populated. Tahiti, which is located within the Society Islands, is the largest and the most populated island, having close to 69 percent of the population of French Polynesia. Papeete, located on Tahiti island, is the capital.

The largest archipelago in French Polynesia is the Tuamotu Archipelago, which is located in the eastern part of French Polynesia and consists of around 80 coral atolls and reef islands. It covers an area of approximately 850,000 square kilometers (328,187 sq mi) and has a population of around 16,000 people. The capital of the Tuamotus is the city of Fakarava, which is known for its beautiful beaches, diving spots, and lagoon.

Interesting facts about French Polynesia

  1. French Polynesia is an overseas collectivity of France located in the South Pacific Ocean, consisting of 118 islands and atolls.
  2. The capital city of French Polynesia is Papeete, which is located on the island of Tahiti.
  3. Tahiti is the largest and most populated island in French Polynesia.
  4. French Polynesia is known for its beautiful beaches, turquoise lagoons, and coral reefs, making it a popular destination for tourists and scuba divers.
  5. The official languages of French Polynesia are French and Tahitian.
  6. The currency used in French Polynesia is the French Pacific Franc (XPF).
  7. French Polynesia is home to a variety of unique flora and fauna, including the tiare flower, the Tahitian vanilla orchid, and the black-lipped pearl oyster.
  8. French Polynesia is famous for its traditional dance, called the Tahitian dance or ‘Ori Tahiti’, which features rapid hip-shaking movements.
  9. The Marquesas Islands, located in the northern part of French Polynesia, were made famous by French artist Paul Gauguin, who lived there in the late 19th century.
  10. French Polynesia was once a major center for nuclear testing by France, which conducted 193 nuclear tests between 1960 and 1996, principally in the atolls of Mururoa and Fangataufa. The tests had a devastating impact on the environment and the health of the local population.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x