Mapping England’s traditional regions

Identifying Regions of England, according to the most frequently used definitions in the public and private sectors.

Regions of England

The North: current North East (the combined area of Northumberland, County Durham, Tyne and Wear and a small part of North Yorkshire) + Cumbria

The Midlands: East Midlands + West Midlands. (A cultural and geographic area roughly spanning central England that broadly corresponds to the early medieval Kingdom of Mercia)

East Anglia: The counties of Norfolk, Suffolk, and Cambridgeshire, including the City of Peterborough unitary authority. (The name derives from the Anglo-Saxon kingdom of the East Angles, a tribe whose name originated in Anglia, northern Germany)

West country: The historic counties of Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, Somerset, and often the counties of Bristol, Gloucestershire, and Wiltshire.

Wessex: South West England without Devon and Cornwall (An Anglo-Saxon kingdom in the south of Great Britain).

Home counties: The counties of England that surround London (Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Kent, Surrey, Sussex, Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Hampshire, Oxfordshire).

Identifying Regions of England

Related post:
Identifying Regions of Europe using Multiple Maps through Various Sources

1 Star2 Stars (1 votes, average: 3.00 out of 5)