Penguin habitat distribution

Penguins are aquatic birds that live most only in the Southern Hemisphere. Only one penguin species (the Galapagos penguin) inhabit north of the equator. Most penguins feed on fish, krill, squid, and other sea life forms. Despite that, they highly adapted for life in the water. They spend about half of their lives on land and the other half in the sea.

The map below shows where penguins are found naturally in the world.

Where penguins are found naturally in the world?

The largest penguin species is the emperor penguin (Aptenodytes forsteri) on average; adults are about 1.1 meters (3 feet 7 inches) tall and weigh 35 kilograms (77 pounds). The tiniest penguin species is the small blue penguin (Eudyptula minor), which reaches only 33 centimeters (13 inches) tall and weighs one kilogram (2.2 pounds).

The map below show geographical distribution of various penguin species.

Map of penguin habitat distribution

Species of penguin

Pygoscelis adeliae (Adelie Penguin)
African Penguin (Spheniscus demersus)
Chinstrap Penguin (Pygoscelis antarctica)
Emperor Penguin (Aptenodytes forsteri)
Erect-crested Penguin (Eudyptes sclateri)
Fiordland Penguin (Eudyptes pachyrhynchus)
Galapagos Penguin (Spheniscus mendiculus)
Gentoo Penguin (Pygoscelis papua)
Humboldt Penguin (Spheniscus humboldti)
King Penguin (Aptenodytes patagonicus)
Little Penguin (Eudyptula minor)
Macaroni Penguin (Eudyptes chrysolophus)
Magellanic Penguin (Spheniscus magellanicus)
Rockhopper Penguin (Eudyptes chrysocome)
Royal Penguin (Eudyptes schlegeli)
Snares Penguin (Eudyptes robustus)
Yellow-eyed Penguin (Megadyptes antipodes)

1 Star2 Stars (No Ratings Yet)