Ways to divide Japan

Japan is one of the unique nations. As an island country with a long history of geographical and political isolation (until about 1853, Japan didn’t want to be connected to the external world), many cultural features are formed utterly untouched by external influences. Moreover, Japan has never been colonized by other countries.

Japan has one of the least ethnically diverse populations on the planet. But even though Japan is a homogeneous nation, it can also be divided into parts.

12 ways to divide Japan
Map of twelve ways to divide Japan

Tokyo has been the capital of Japan since 1868. Previously, the capital of Japan was Kyoto. This city was the capital of the Land of the rising sun for much of the nation’s history from 794 to 1868.

Despite the time, the city of Kyoto remains historically intact. Unlike Tokyo, Osaka, and Kobe, Kyoto has a very traditional character and plenty of temples, shrines, and magnificent gardens.

That’s why Kyoto is considered the cultural capital of Japan and a significant tourist destination.

8 ways to divide Kyoto Prefecture

Related posts:
12 ways to divide China
Tearing Europe apart
Tearing Mexico apart

1 Star2 Stars (2 votes, average: 1.00 out of 5)